SyncUThink

From Greg Jordan via the CiteULike discussion forums:

I thought I’d share with you a little tool I wrote to make working with CiteULike a little more user-friendly. It’s called SyncUThink, and it aims to do two things:

1. Search for, and upload to CiteULike, PDFs for all citations in your library.
2. Download all available PDFs to your computer.

I have it running now. The first attempt crashed my browser (not uncommon with Firefox + Linux + Java apps, unfortunately), but it seems to be running smoothly. I’ll keep you posted – this could be a really useful tool, provided of course that your network has full access to online articles.

Update: pretty good job. 100 PDFs retrieved for 153 citations and at a cursory glance, only one incorrect PDF was fetched. PDF download to an NFS-mount location failed, but seems OK to a local drive. However, if “tag subfolders” is selected, PDFs with multiple tags are downloaded to every folder with those tags which seems wasteful.

4 thoughts on “SyncUThink

  1. Andrew Perry

    Half worked for me … the problem is Melbourne Uni’s journal subscriptions must be accessed via a URL-mangling proxy (EZproxy) (apparently the publishers didn’t like allowing a large IP range for the Uni, the way it used to work). So I suspect I’m not able to take advantage of my Institutional subscriptions for SyncUThink at the moment.

    As a possible alternative, I’ve noticed Zotero can export as RDF with links to the associated PDFs … I seems like it wouldn’t be hard to write something to suck that up and put it into CiteULike along with the PDFs.

  2. Chad Davis

    This is a nice tool. It worked well filling in the few missing PDFs in my personal library. Do you have any plans to make it work for groups?
    If you could also automatically enable ” I have the right to distribute this document” when the group is ‘private’, that would be extra convenient.
    … unless anyone else has any ideas how to transfer one’s PDFs from a user library (or from the local computer) to a group?

Comments are closed.