The Web as science communication platform: two more signs

  1. People are finding many outlets for their work. Pierre maintains a repository of tools where you can find IBDStatus, his latest software for genetic analysis.
  2. Spotted in Nature this week:

naturepdb.png

Makes perfect sense doesn’t it: if you publish an article on a structure, include a link to the PDB resource. Yet so far as I can tell this is a new feature, since it jumped out at me. Given that the WWW is such a rich publishing platform, simply because of hyperlinks that connect data, how long before paper copies of all journals are considered quaint and obsolete?

6 thoughts on “The Web as science communication platform: two more signs

  1. That’s wonderful actually. Just the kind of thing that makes so much sense that no one does it, but Nature does grok the web these days.

  2. > how long before paper copies of all journals are considered
    > quaint and obsolete

    The moment people stop printing out PDFs to read later. ;)

  3. I also still print PDFs to read :), I can’t focus reading on the screen. I think also that I am used to speed reading on the screen and I can only read carefully on paper. I want to try some portable reader gadget next year. I just have to find one that I does not look like kindle.

  4. With screens the problem is form factor. I admit that I read all technical material on my screen, but I’d rather use my laptop with the laptop on my lap :). Maybe they will design a reader that is (a) < $200, (b) looks good and (c) uses multitouch :)

  5. > how long before paper copies of all journals are considered quaint and obsolete

    when major journals move to Open Access model.
    there are still some journals my library subscribes in print form only. sigh.

Comments are closed.