Rejection and acceptance

From Schmap:

I am delighted to let you know that your submitted photo has been selected for inclusion in the newly released third edition of our Schmap Brisbane Guide:
Mt Coot-tha Lookout

And from an unnamed journal:

I am sorry to say that we cannot consider the manuscript for publication…
…If at some stage you are able to fully address the referees’ concerns, we are happy to consider a new manuscript…

The first email made me happy, at least. I don’t think there’s a way to blog about manuscript rejection that won’t turn into an angry rant, so I’ll leave it.

5 thoughts on “Rejection and acceptance

  1. suicyte

    I just had a (first) look at your photostream and I must that say I am thoroughly impressed!
    As I don’t know what your manuscript was about, I cannot comment on that. In any case, I wish you good luck with your re-submission.

  2. Bill

    Wait, you live in Brisbane? How did I not know that?

    Small world.

    I lived there for about four million years, or at least that’s what it felt like — undergrad at UQ, hons with David Hume, PhD at QIMR then worked with Dave Harrich at SASVRC (he’s since moved to QIMR).

  3. nsaunders Post author

    Hi Bill – yes, I’ve been a Brisbanite for about a year and a half now, six years in Sydney before that.

    David Hume, by the way, is getting a big send-off this month; he’s off to be director of the Edinburgh Bioscience Research Centre (which includes the Roslin “Dolly the sheep” Institute). Apparently John Wilkins is at UQ too, though we’ve not crossed paths yet.

  4. Animesh Sharma

    Those pics are really good man, I have downloaded couple of them.
    Regarding manuscript, there is nothing called rejection, it is just NAY [ Not Accepted Yet ].

  5. Bill

    six years in Sydney before that

    Are you stalking me or something? :-) I lived in Sydney too, 18 months in Westmead working as an RA in the ICPMR before I moved back to Brisbane for grad school.

    he’s off to be director of the Edinburgh Bioscience Research Centre

    So he never did quit and start that strawberry farm, or whatever it was he used to threaten to do. I always rather thought he would. It’s a shame he wasn’t made CMB director over Mattick, imo. I’m glad he’s finally getting some proper clout, he’ll do good things with it.

Comments are closed.