target=”_blank”

One of my Google Gadget pet hates is search gadgets that open results in the same browser tab. Surely the point of a portal page such as iGoogle is that it remains open, rather than jumping between it and the resources that it contains.

It’s a problem with an easy solution – gadget developers just need to ensure that any <a href> tags in their code contain the target=”_blank” attribute. I got so tired of this that I resorted to grabbing the XML files for some of my favourite gadgets, editing them and hosting them on a server.

Here are the links in case anyone else finds them useful. To add them to an iGoogle tab click “add stuff”, look for the “add by URL” link, copy these URLs and paste them in. Feel free to grab the files and host them yourself. I can’t guarantee availability.