Fungal collage

FungiThere’s a lot to love about Fraser Island. Its original name, K’gari, means paradise and they weren’t wrong. One feature that you won’t read about in the tourist brochures is an incredible variety of colourful fungi.

This collage illustrates a few that we encountered on our travels (click for full-size). I’d like to claim it as my own, but it’s the work of my talented better half.

Maybe the fungal genomes crew can put a name to some of them?

One thought on “Fungal collage

  1. Jason

    Nice collage!
    Hard to identify from pictures alone- I barely am getting to know the California types so I am not sure I know much about the Aussie varieties… I assume you didn’t do any spore prints… =)
    Clockwise, left to right
    1,3,4,5 No good ideas right now
    2 & 8 would be polypore/bracket fungi of some sort
    6. Looks like a puffball from above? Can’t tell though.
    7. Hard to tell from the angle. Perhaps
    Entoloma hochstetteri

    9. Is probably a Mycena

Comments are closed.