Addon incompatibility

A couple of days ago, I wrote a dull and rambling post about Firefox 2. It wasn’t very interesting and for some reason, attracted comment spam, so I deleted it. The gist of the post was that Firefox 2 on all my Ubuntu machines had become terribly unstable, freezing up to 6 times a day.

If you’re experiencing similar troubles, I suggest that you check your addons. My suspicion is that too many addons, particularly those that access Google services, is a bad idea. I’ve replaced Gmail manager (for multiple accounts) with Gmail notifier (for single accounts) and uninstalled Google toolbar, which I never found especially useful. Not sure if the problem was the manager, the toolbar or some combination but my Firefox is now much snappier and, fingers crossed, freeze-free so far.

Update: some web searching suggests that Google toolbar + Firefox 2 is a bad combo for a lot of people