Elsewhere in Nature this week

  • Key biology databases go wiki is an account of a new wiki experiment, dubbed Wiki for Professionals.

    “Mons is a visionary…This will be a revolution.”

    The word overblown comes to mind – this is no more than the bioinformatics blogging community has been discussing for years. “Basic access will be free” doesn’t inspire confidence either.

  • In NatureWhinge (sorry, Jobs), a postdoc describes the lack of career opportunity in Poland. I read this substituting “Australia” throughout, it loses no meaning. Try it with your country (probably doesn’t work for western EU or the USA).
  • There’s even a Valentine special this issue, which will either make you say “aaw” or “bleurgh”, depending on your personality.

6 thoughts on “Elsewhere in Nature this week

  1. Jonathan Badger

    In NatureWhinge (sorry, Jobs), a postdoc describes the lack of career opportunity in Poland. I read this substituting “Australia” throughout, it loses no meaning. Try it with your country (probably doesn’t work for western EU or the USA).

    But you’re a guy from the western EU (well, the UK counts, doesn’t it?) who *went* to Australia. Not that I can criticize — I’m from the US and did a postdoc in Canada — which seemed pretty weird to the Canadian grad students I worked with, most of whom were trying to line up something in the US for their postdocs…

  2. nsaunders Post author

    It’s true. Mind you, the UK was quite poor when I left – these things often go in cycles. I guess in the equation of career goals plus quality of life, I’ve tended to put more emphasis on the latter. Ultimately if I had to choose between doing science and living here, I’d go for the second one and do something else.

  3. Deepak

    Aboslutely.

    I can live with that.

    Never realized you were from the UK. That Australian cricket trip must have really hurt till the last couple of matches.

  4. nsaunders Post author

    That Australian cricket trip must have really hurt till the last couple of matches

    Fortunately, I’d prepared for the worst. Which in the event, was what happened.

Comments are closed.