A genome dear to me

There are a huge number of ongoing and completed genome sequencing projects now. The NCBI Entrez database lists 1447, 1289 and 75 sequence records for Eukarya, Bacteria and Archaea, respectively, as of today.
With so many – why are any of them special? One answer is that individual projects mean a lot to the people who work on them. So I give you one of my favourites – Paracoccus denitrificans PD1222, genome closed as of two days ago.

Back in my wet-lab days, PD1222 and its close relatives formed the basis of my Ph.D. research. They were less data-intensive days; like most projects at that time, mine consisted of cloning and sequencing a single gene, doing some mutagenesis and a few biochemical assays. Here we are, not so many years later, with the complete genome. Now that’s progress.