Let’s ban wastage

The Stern report on the cost of climate change is causing a bit of a stir. The Guardian features a nice article on rising environmental awareness in the UK. The always-reliable George Monbiot has some practical suggestions. I especially like:

Ban the sale of incandescent lightbulbs, patio heaters, garden floodlights and other wasteful and unnecessary technologies

I’d like to add personalised credit cards to the list. There will come a day when society will have to decide which consumer items are unnecessary in order to conserve materials and energy. I can’t think of a better example for the top of the “first to go” list.
I have to admit that sometimes, it’s a little depressing to live in a country governed by people who consistently place individual wealth ahead of social and environmental concerns. That said, at least my current city is more tuned in.