Career choices

It’s been quiet over at Flags & Lollipops for a while and now we know why – Stew has a new job with Nature Publishing Group. He writes: “While I enjoyed working in my previous lab it’s refreshing to be in an environment where people are excited about the same ideas and opportunities as I am.” I think this is the best career advice that anyone can have – you really have to be in a working environment that suits you. If you aren’t and can’t make changes from within, get out. Anyway, I hope we continue to hear from Stew and his various web projects.

I’m getting a growing sense that academic environments are not providing the creativity needed by many people with good ideas. Smart people in their early twenties don’t want to do Ph.D.s – they want to work for Google. I suspect I’ll have more to say on this as I think it over.

One thought on “Career choices

  1. Deepak

    I agree with Stew. I chose to work at a small startup because I found the atmosphere more liberating than the atmosphere in academia. I did my PhD, but I think saying that academia is the only place to be creative is rather limiting. Nothing against academia, but it was not for me.

Comments are closed.