YouTube sound fix for Firefox 1.5/Ubuntu 6.06

One day I had sound in YouTube videos, the next I didn’t. Doug’s blog to the rescue. Basically:

sudo apt-get install alsa-oss
edit /etc/firefox/firefoxrc and ensure that you have “FIREFOX_DSP=aoss”
restart all Firefoxes

and you should be right.

I don’t think the Dapper team have quite got the hang of not breaking things that worked previously on system upgrade. My advice is – if you have a Breezy box working perfectly, stick with it. If it’s a new box, Dapper is fine.

10 thoughts on “YouTube sound fix for Firefox 1.5/Ubuntu 6.06

  1. Doug Dockery

    Thanks for the kind words. I agree with your conclusion: upgrades don’t work well in Ubuntu yet. Tried to upgrade Dapper to Edgy last weekend – completely screwed. Had to reinstall Dapper from the CD. But they will get there. Now if I could just find a more recent build of Evolution all made up as a deb package…

    Best wishes –

    Doug

  2. Ian

    I followed your advice and installed alsa-oss, which went successfully. However, I tried editing firefoxrc as you suggested but couldn’t; the file was read only and didn’t let me change the permissions on it for some reason, claiming I was not the owner of the file. Any way to get around this?

  3. nsaunders Post author

    the file was read only and didn’t let me change the permissions on it
    That file is owned by the root user. If you’re able to install alsa-oss, you must have root privileges. Become root either with “su” or “sudo nano /etc/firefox/firefoxrc” on some systems, “chmod o+w /etc/firefox/firefoxrc” (give owner write privilege) and you should be right.

  4. Pingback: Data Access Notes » ubuntu sound in firefox

  5. rmdeal

    nsaunders reported that
    sudo apt-get install alsa-oss
    edit /etc/firefox/firefoxrc and ensure that you have “FIREFOX_DSP=aoss”
    restart all Firefoxes

    worked for him. Unfortunately, in Dapper on my machine, after a restart of the
    computer with delay, I still have no sound in youtube. I do have aoss in quotes (“) as I had read elsewhere. Any further suggestions?

    rmdeal

  6. nsaunders Post author

    I guess my latest suggestion would be upgrade to the newest Ubuntu, if you can, and the newest flash plugin.

    Also make sure that alsa is correctly configured for your soundcard. You may need a couple of files named ~/.asoundrc and ~/.asoundrc.conf for things to work properly.

  7. Tim Boyd

    Hey im having the same problem and i keep seeing “You may need a couple of files named ~/.asoundrc and ~/.asoundrc.conf for things to work properly.”

    im a total noob at Linux so where are these files and what exactly has to be done with them? ive looked in the /home folder and the /etc folder but cant seem to find them. after some long research i think this is the answer but i dont know how to go about it.

    Thanks for your time.

  8. nsaunders Post author

    Tim – if you can’t find them, you need to create them. As I recall, the required command is “asoundconf”. Try “asoundconf list” to list your soundcard names, then “asoundconf set-default-card NAME” should create the files.

    To be honest, Flash sound on Ubuntu seems to come and go with the wind these days.

  9. Tim Boyd

    Hi again, I tried the “asoundconf list” and i only got one and thats “intel” so i did “asoundconf set-default-card Intel” then i restarted just to make sure and still no files…i tried youtube still no sound. is there anyway someone who knows what they are doing just make the files for me then i just put them where needed ?

  10. nsaunders Post author

    That deafening sound is the silence generated by the phrase “make the files for me” ;)

    asoundconf set-default-card should definitely write out the files to your home directory. Try “ls -lart” to list them; you need the “-a” switch to see dotfiles (those where name starts with a dot).

    Beyond that, Google is your friend.

Comments are closed.