Bad science week

It’s been a fitful, unproductive week punctuated by hardware and software failure, the type of week that comes along once in a while. Thought I’d mention a couple of publications that caught my eye this week.

First up, MTH187 from Methanobacterium thermoautotrophicum has three HEAT-like Repeats, by Julien et al. in J. Biomol. NMR. Not being part of the NMR research community, I may be missing the value of this paper. It’s a small protein (111 residues) so I guess good for NMR. Perhaps the title could have been better – I can take the sequence, submit it to InterProScan and see 3 HEAT repeats for myself.

I doubt that many people read Archaea, but there’s a nice paper on PIGED, the Prokaryotic InterGenic Exploration Database and its application to ArsR/SmtB regulators. I’ve wanted to set up a database and analysis system for prokaryotic IGRs for years, looks like they beat me to it. There’s room for improvement there though.

Rather more impressive is A Virulence Locus of Pseudomonas aeruginosa Encodes a Protein Secretion Apparatus by Mougous et al. in Science. If I understand the abstract right, this is a novel secretory apparatus – the type of thing that gets genome miners like me quite excited.