Other blogs round-up

Google Base is in the news and on the blogs.  I think it’s an interesting development but agree with Pedro and Spitshine that its utility for bioinformatics is limited.  There’s a difference between "a place where I can dump loads of data" and "a place where I can do something useful with loads of data".  It also seems to be more of a revenue machine than a utility.

Via BoingBoing and Open
Access News
, reactions to the Royal Society’s position on open access publishing.  I can appreciate that journals require income in order to publish, but open access models such as PLoS appear
to be working and as my physicist friends are always pointing out, open access has been the norm in physics for years with no impact on print physics journals.  The RS seems really out of touch on this
one.