Visionaries, followers and fools

Others have written about PRISM; my personal favourite is Bora’s post (which inspired my title). Go to their site, have a laugh then add your voice to the derision.

I still recall the excitement of publishing my first journal article. I also recall the confusion that I felt when I was sent an agreement by email, telling me that I was signing away all rights to my article. “This can’t be right”, I thought, “I generated the data, I did the work, I wrote the words and it’s not mine?” Ultimately, your peers convince you to accept this as quite normal practice and move on. It’s not normal though, is it?

2 thoughts on “Visionaries, followers and fools

  1. Bill

    It may be normal in the sense of “usual practice”, but it’s a hangover from the days of print-only and makes no sense whatsoever now that we have the web.

    I’m embarassed to admit that I never even thought about copyright for most of my papers — it just didn’t cross my radar. It was only once the OA movement came to my attention (around the “E-Biomed” days) that I started to realize how broken the system is.

Comments are closed.